Tuesday’s Teaching Tip

I wanted to connect you with a couple of blogs I follow for today’s teaching tips.

 1. Teach Mama has a great post on what to say when kids make reading mistakes.  Her post is very thorough and well-thought out.  Amen, Amy!

2. I also found this one from Beginning Reading Help.  Michelle’s tip is how to separate syllables in words to sound them out.

While I do like her post, this reading mama would add two things:

1. By the time a child is reading words like metamorphosis, “sounding out” should not be the primary decoding strategy.  In this stage of reading, young readers should be looking for chunks or morphemes they know within the words.

2. If possible, read or at least skim through the text ahead of time and pull out words you know will be a challenge for your young reader to decode.  Talk about their meaning, break them apart into syllables, model and practice decoding strategies out of context before they see them in context.  This alleviates the need to stop during reading, which can compromise comprehension.  (With the kids I tutor, 4-5 words is my maximum number of words I pull out of context.  If I see that I need to pull out many more than that, it is a clue to me that the text is probably too difficult for that student.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Breum
    May 04, 2011 @ 15:58:06

    Thanks for mentioning my post and adding my blog to your blogroll. I like to introduce a few words before a child reads a book sometimes too. Here’s a post about it.
    http://beginningreadinghelp.blogspot.com/2011/01/use-magnetic-letters-to-teach-decoding.html

    I’m adding your blog to my blog list. I look forward to more of your posts.

    Reply

  2. Michelle Breum
    May 04, 2011 @ 21:16:32

    I’ve been blogging since November 2009. I just created my first website this month. http://parentandchildreading.com
    It’s fun to share knowledge with others. I’m an Amazon Affiliate and write at Squidoo. (I’m not making much, if any, money. It’s more a way to connect with parents and other educators.)
    I’m hoping my business will be a success. I plan to visit some play groups and homeschool groups in the next few weeks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to share with others by linking directly to my blog. All texts created by Becky are protected by

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
