FROG In the BOG

After spending a few months in short a word family land :), ALuv and I moved onto short o word families.  This introduction came a day or so after we did this sort with short a and short o pictures.

This sort comes from Word Sorts for Letter Name-Alphabetic Spellers.  It contains 3 short o word families (OP, OT & OG).  I didn’t know if ALuv would be ready to do three, but I thought we’d at least give it a try.  I was pleasantly surprised.

The thing I like about these resources from Words Their Way is that they have notes for the teacher (or mama) in the front on how to introduce and practice each of the sorts.

The first thing we did was a rhyming sort with all the pictures.

Next, I laid out all the words and he matched words with the pictures.

We went back through each column and talked about how the rhyming words all had “the same last name” (as my mom says) or pattern.

I mixed all the words up again and ALuv re-matched them.

The last thing we did was read Frog in the Bog by Karma Wilson, finding all the OG words.

As we were finishing up the lesson, he asked me, “Are you going to put this lesson on your blog?”  But before I could answer, he said, “Hey, that’s an OG word-blog!”  Yep, he got it!

Leave a Reply

Please feel free to share with others by linking directly to my blog. All texts created by Becky are protected by

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
